DRAFFENVILLE -- The Marshall County boys soccer team heads to Hopkinsville tonight for a pre-season scrimmage with University Heights before opening their season at home next Monday against Paducah Tilghman.

After graduating 11 seniors last season, the Marshals will take the field this season with a roster full of upperclassman with eight seniors and nine juniors.

The Marshals 2018 leading scorer will return this season. As a junior, Bryson Penn led the team with 47 goals last regular season for 101 points. He was named first region 2018 Player of the Year. 2018 graduates Daniel Gardner and Austin Stockdale rounded out the top scoring positions last season.

Tyler Belcher left the position of goalkeeper to be filled. Luke Eisha spent five games in the goal allowing zero goals for the 2018 regular season.

The Marshals will play a full week of ball the first week of the season. The team will host Paducah Tilghman on Monday, August 12, to open the season. They will be back at the home field Tuesday to host St. Mary. Thursday, August 15, the Marshals will travel to Mayfield, and they will head to Louisville Saturday, August 17, for a full day of soccer.

The Marshals took the Tilghman Tornados for two wins last season, one to open the season, and the second time in the first round of the regional tournament.

Penn took three of the 11 goals scored against St. Mary in the 11-1 win over the Vikings last season. The Marshals scored a total of 19 goals in three wins over Mayfield in 2018 with seven goals going to Penn.

Monday, Aug. 12 Paducah Tilghman @Home

Tuesday, Aug. 13 St. Mary @Home

Thursday, Aug. 15 Mayfield @Mayfield

Saturday, Aug. 17 Louisville @Louisville

Tuesday, Aug. 20 Graves County @Graves

Thursday, Aug. 22 Calloway County @MCHS

Tuesday, Aug. 27 Murray @MCHS

Thursday, Aug. 29 Lyon County

Saturday, Aug. 31 McCracken County @MCHS

Ohio County @MCHS

Thursday, Sept. 5 Ft. Campbell @Ft. Campbell

Saturday, Sept. 7 Greenwood @MCHS

Tuesday, Sept. 10 Murray @Murray

Thursday, Sept. 12 Hopkinsville @MCHS

Saturday, Sept. 14 Daren Puckett Classic @MCHS

Thursday, Sept. 19 Graves County @MCHS

Tuesday, Sept. 24 Mayfield @MCHS (Senior Night)

Thursday, Sept. 26 Calloway County @Calloway

Tuesday, Oct. 1 Henderson County @Henderson

Oct. 7 - Oct. 10 District Tournament @Mayfield

Oct. 14 - Oct. 16 Regional Tournament @District 1 Winner

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.