Tickets are on sale for the Kentucky High School Basketball Hall of Fame's 2019 induction ceremony and the new Night of Champions event which precedes it.

Together, the two events next month are being promoted as "A Weekend to Remember" as basketball greats from multiple generations are expected to visit Elizabethtown.

Ken Trivette, one of the driving forces behind the Hall of Fame, said proceeds support the museum in downtown Elizabethtown and its infrastructure.

Dwane Casey, a member of the 1978 University of Kentucky NCAA championship team who was named NBA Coach of the Year in 2018, is the keynote speaker for the red carpet reception and dinner Aug. 2 at Pritchard Community Center.

Joe B. Hall, Casey's UK coach, also plans to attend, Trivette said. Other premiere coaches expected are Bob Daniels, Wayne Chapman and Ray Harper, all who national titles at Kentucky Wesleyan, plus Kelly Wells and Happy Osborne who won NAIA national titles and several KHSAA state champions including Billy Hicks, the winningest coach in Kentucky high school history.

The Night of Champions also will have a local coaching spotlight, Trivette said, as three championship coaches living in Hardin County will be recognized: James Haire, Larry Miller and Tim Mudd.

Legendary players expected to attend include Cliff Hagan, Larry Conley, Butch Beard, Rex Chapman, Richie Farner, Tim Higgs, Darel Carrier, Geri Grigsby and Donna Murphy.

Trivette also expects the 12 inductees of the 2019 Hall of Fame class, who are being honored the following afternoon at the State Theater across the street from the Hall of Fame building.

Players being inducted this year are Steve Miller, Lexington Henry Clay; Scott Draud, Highlands; Charles Hurt, Shelby County; Sammy Moore, Central High; Robin Harmon, Sheldon Clark; Irene Moore Strong, Breathitt County; Charles Thomas, Harlan; Rick Jones, Scott County; and Doug Schloemer, Covington Holmes; plus coaches Curtis Turley, Nell Fookes and William Falls.

The Night of Champions begins at 6 p.m. Aug. 2 with the red carpet welcome followed by a dinner at 7 p.m. Tickets are $100 each. Admission to the induction celebration, which begins at noon Aug. 3, is $30. Tickets for both events are available for $125.

The Hall of Fame will be open from 9 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. on induction Saturday for tours.

Tickets can be purchased at the Hall of Fame or by calling 270-234-8354. For information, go to

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.